Sunday, 20 May 2012

NightWorld V.1 REVIEW

Night World, No. 1: Secret Vampire; Daughters of Darkness; Spellbinder (Night World, #1-3)Includes:
Book 1 - Secret Vampire
Book 2 - Daughters of Darkness
Book 3 - Spellbinder

Vampires, werewolves, witches, shapeshifters -- they live among us without our knowledge. Night World is their secret society, a secret society with very strict rules. And falling in love breaks all the laws of the Night World.

In Secret Vampire, Poppy thought the summer would last forever. Then she was diagnosed with terminal cancer. Now Poppy's only hope for survival is James, her friend and secret love. A vampire in the Night World, James can make Poppy immortal. But first they both must risk everything to go against the laws of Night World.
Fugitives from Night World, three vampire sisters leave their isolated home to live among humans in Daughters of Darkness. Their brother, Ash, is sent to bring the girls back, but he falls in love with their beautiful friend.
Two witch cousins fight over their high school crush. It's a battle between black magic and white magic in Spellbinder.

                                                   4 Smokin' Kisses
L.J. Smith is a phenomenal author. I absoloutly love the lady- She's a mastermind! I've read all of her novels (except vampire diaries... a little reluctant to read those), and i've loved them all. The nightworld series is a great series. I read them a long time ago, but decided to do a review anyways :)now, considering these novels were first released in 1996 and are still extremely popular today tells you something. I just wish L.J. Smith was a little more active these days... the last NW book was due to be released in 1998 but hasn't been released yet... and it's 2012 :s

anyways, in the first 3 books of NW ( secret vampire, daughters of darkness & spell binder ) we are first introduced to the concept of the nightworld: The nightworld is a secret society that lives in harmony with the humans in the human world. However, the nightworld has very strict laws- Vampires, Werewolves, Witches & Shapeshifters musn't reveal  their true identity to humans or, the biggest tabboo, fall in love with one. That breaks all the laws of the nightworld.

now naturally, the nightworld series is about beings from the NW who fall in love with humans and break the laws. the great thing about these novels is the fact that each book ( secret vampire, daughters of darkness & spell binder ) focuses on a different character. However, some of the novels continrue from the one before, or feature a character from the story before, but they become the main peson in that book. does that make sense? so, in secret vampire, we are introduced to Ash, but we only see his story in daughters of darkness. & then, some characters make tiny appereances again in each of the novels- till they all the characters come back in the ninth book, witchlight. Its quite interesting and the stories are all very well written. alot of description is used- and used well- i must say, so one always feels like theyre in the novels themselves.

The only reason I didnt give these novels 5 stars is because after reading so many novels over the years, the plot in NW is quite bleak. it only focuses on someone from the NW & a human falling in love, the laws/ consequnces of the NW & this group called circle daybreak looking for the four who have the power to stop the NW from attempting to take over the human world. dont get me wrong, the novels are WAY better than i make them sound, it's just that the story line isn't broad. it doesnt have extra details that focus on other things, so that would be a star off in my opinion- maybe more if the NW story wasn't so good!

either way it's a great series & recommended !

happy readings!

No comments:

Post a comment